In order to renew your license you are required to have 40 hours of approved CME. At least 24 hours must be obtained by completing CME classified at AOA Category 1A. The remaining 16 hours can be classified at Category 1A by the AMA.
Please note that as of 2018 all physicians are required to complete CME focused on opioid, substance use disorders, or addiction related prescribing. Here are some options for free and online CME provided by various providers. Here are some options to complete the required CME to be in compliance with the 2018 Opioid Laws:
- ADHS - The Arizona Pain and Addiction Curriculum.
- The Massachusetts Medical Society and the New England Journal of Medicine offer several CME classes from their website (FREE REGISTRATION)
- Addressing the Opioid Epidemic: Recommendations from CDC (Web Based)
- SAFE Opioid Prescribing: Strategies. Assessment. Fundamentals. Education.
- CME offered by the U of A related to opioids. There are three modules available now: