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90-DAY LOCUM TENENS REGISTRATION 
APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 

Fee:  $300.00 
 

Thank you for your interest in obtaining a Locum Tenens (LT) Osteopathic Registration in the State of Arizona. 
 

LT Application packets with original notarized signatures must be mailed or delivered to the Board office. 
Scanned or faxed applications are not acceptable. 

 
To file an application, you must submit the following:  
 
1. Completed Application:  Application form with all sections completed, picture attached and signed before a notary. 
The notarization is a Jurat and Arizona law requires a document with this type of notarization have NO blank spaces on 
any page of the document. With a Jurat, you are not only having your signature notarized, you are also being placed 
under oath by the notary and affirming that everything in the application packet is true and correct.  If a section or field 
does not apply to you, write n/a.  Do not leave any blank spaces.  

2. $300 application fee:  We accept Visa, MasterCard and American Express as well as check or money order.  If paying 
by credit card, please use the form provided at the end of the application packet.  If paying with check or money order, 
please make payable to the Arizona Board of Osteopathic Examiners. 

3. Picture ID:  Copy of government issued picture identification (e.g., driver’s license or passport) showing same name 
used on the application. 

4. Change of name documentation:  If you have ever used another name than you are using now, or if your birth 
certificate or other supporting documents show a name different in any way from your application or current ID, copies 
of legal documentation proving legal change of name is required. This may include the last page of a divorce decree, 
legal court documents or marriage license. 

 5. Citizenship Status Form and ID:  The completed two page Citizenship Status Form, signed and dated and a copy of 
acceptable documentation demonstrating your citizenship, alien status, legal residency or lawful presence in the United 
States (A.R.S. § 41-1080) must accompany your application.  See Evidence of U.S. Citizenship, U.S. National Status or 
Alien Status page in this packet for types of acceptable documentation. 

6. Written request from sponsoring physician:  Written request from a doctor of osteopathic medicine (D.O.) or doctor 
of medicine (M.D.) licensed in Arizona for whom you are substituting or assisting.  The request must include:  

1. name of locum tenens applicant; 
2. whether request is to substitute for or assist the sponsoring physician;  
3. exact starting date registration is needed (good for 90 days after starting date); 
4. name of sponsoring physician and Arizona license number; 
5. sponsoring physician contact information; and 
6. original signature of sponsoring physician (no stamp signatures) and date. 

 
7.  Proof that you passed the COMLEX or USMLE examination:   We can accept the following:  

• a copy of your Level III Score Report showing a passing score; 
• a copy of your NBOME Diplomate certificate; 
• a copy of your official COMLEX or USMLE transcript showing a Level III passing score or 
• an official transcript of your COMLEX or USMLE scores showing a Level III passing score.  
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8. Copy of your osteopathic diploma or transcript from an approved College of Osteopathic Medicine (COM) showing 
the date of your graduation.  Please submit Form 1: Professional Education Verification to the Osteopathic College from 
which you graduated.  

9. Copy of internship or residency certificate or official letter showing completion of an internship or first year of 
residency.  Certificates or letters showing an expected completion date or a completion date after the date of the letter 
are not acceptable. Please submit Form 2: Postgraduate Training Verification to the program director of each 
postgraduate training (PGT) program in which you participated regardless of completion.  

10. Verification of Licensure and Disciplinary History: Verification of licensure and disciplinary history from each state 
in which you are or have been licensed regardless of status is required. If no actions have been taken against your 
license(s), the verifications must state this.  You are required to contact each state and have the verification sent directly 
to the Board.  We accept a state’s website verification if it is the only means of verification provided by the state.  We 
also accept VeriDoc.  Please do not send copies of your license certificates or wallet cards.  
 
11. Verification of Practice Experience:   Provide a list of all health care facilities, clinics, urgent cares, offices, etc., at 
which you have practiced medicine, consulted medicine or had staff privileges, whether employed or in private practice.  
This list must account for all years since initial licensure.  This does not include facilities at which you were doing PGT 
rotations.  If more space is needed, please use a separate blank sheet of paper.  If this information is in your CV, you may 
write “see CV” in the table and include your CV with your application instead.  
 
Verification of the last seven (7) years of practice experience is required. Please send Form No. 3: Practice Experience 
Verification to the appropriate entities to obtain the verification and have the completed form(s) sent directly to the 
Board in order to maintain the integrity of the verification. We accept verifications by fax, email or mail from the 
verifying entities only.  
 
12. Professional Conduct History “YES” Answers:   If you answered Yes to any question in Section 8 (Professional 
Conduct History) or Section 9 (Professional Conduct History-Confidential Questionnaire), you must provide a written 
explanation on a separate blank sheet of paper and include it and any documents that confirm your explanation. 
 
13. Medical Malpractice: If you have had a malpractice suit that resulted in an award or settlement to the plaintiff, or 
you have been notified that a suit or settlement is pending and/or was investigated by another state licensing board, 
you must complete the Malpractice Claim/Suit Questionnaire for each instance and attach supporting documents and 
include these with your application packet. 
 
After you have submitted all documentation and all verifications have been received, your application will be considered 
administratively complete and forwarded to the executive director for approval.  
 
Upon approval, the registration will be mailed to the sponsoring physician.  You will also receive a letter stating that the 
Locum Tenens Registration has been issued.  
 
The sponsoring physician who submitted the original request may extend a Locum Tenens Registration for an additional 
ninety (90) days upon written request.  The request must meet the same criteria as listed above and must state the 
reason an extension is necessary.  An additional fee of $300 must accompany the request.   
 
Please contact us with any questions at 480-657-7703 or email questions@azdo.gov.  
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