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Frequently Asked Questions: Initial Licensing

1. What are the requirements for licensure in Arizona?

The basic requirements are that you:

graduated from an approved osteopathic medical school,

completed an internship or PGY-1 of a multiple year residency,

passed an approved national licensing exam,

are physically, mentally and emotionally capable of practicing, and

have no history of unprofessional or criminal conduct or are rehabilitated from such conduct.
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For specific requirements, refer to the statutes and rules on the Board’s website, www.azdo.gov.

2. I retired but now want to go back into practice. Does Arizona have special procedures for re-entry into
practice?

The Board considers "re-entering practice" to mean those physicians who held a license and practiced clinical
medicine previously but are not licensed and are not practicing medicine at the time of their application to
the Arizona Board. It also includes those physicians who are licensed elsewhere but have not practiced
clinical medicine for more than two (2) years.

Re-entry procedures have been adopted by the Board. You can read these on our website at the following
path: For DOs > New License Application > Application Procedures for Doctors Re-Entering Practice.

3. How much does an application for license in Arizona cost?
The application fee is $400 which must accompany the application. If your application is approved, a
licensing fee will apply. Please review the Cost of Licensure in Arizona. More detailed information can be
found on our website at For DOs > New License Application > Cost of Licensure in Arizona.
Fees are non-refundable.

4. How much does the initial issuance of a license cost?
Your license must be renewed at the end of the calendar year in which it was first issued. For the first year,
you pay only for the months you are licensed so the initial license fee is prorated. If your license is issued
between January and September, the cost is $15.00 for each month you are licensed. Your license will be up

for renewal at the end of that year or by December 31°%.

This means, depending on when you request issuance, the fee ranges from $180.00 in January to $60.00 in
September.

For administrative purposes, the issuance fee for the months of October, November and December are
$180.00 and the “Renew By Date” is extended to December 31* of the next calendar year.

At the end of your initial licensure period, you must renew your license to continue practicing and every two
(2) years thereafter.
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5. How long does the application process take?

On average, it takes between 45 to 90 days to collect all of the supporting documentation needed to
complete your application. After all the documents have been collected, your application is reviewed by the
Executive Director to determine if you meet the requirements for licensure. If there is any question about
your qualifications, you may be required to appear before the Board for an interview to determine whether
you meet Arizona requirements. The time period for the Executive Director and Board review of your
qualifications ranges from a few days to several months but not more than 90 days for the initial review.

6. Is an allopathic internship or residency accepted for osteopathic licensure in Arizona?

Yes, completion of an internship or the first postgraduate training year (PGY-1) of either an AOA or ACGME
approved residency in any specialty meets the PGY-1 or intern year requirement for licensure.

7. Does Arizona have reciprocity with other states?

No. However, Arizona allows doctors to be licensed based on “continuous practice.” If you passed your
licensing exam more than seven (7) years ago and you have been in advanced training (residency or
fellowship) or in practice continuously from the date of your first license in any state, you can substitute
“continuous practice” for having recent exam scores.

8. Will the Board accept faxed applications?

No. All applications must be original and mailed or delivered to the Board office. Faxed or scanned copies
will not be processed.

9. Will the Arizona Board of Osteopathic Examiners accept faxed verifications?

Yes. We will also accept emailed or mailed verifications as long as proof exists that it was sent by the
verifying entity (cover sheet, fax time/date stamp, etc.).

10. Do | have to send in my National Board Exam scores (COMLEX or USMLE)?

That depends on how long it has been since you passed Level 3 of the exam. If you passed Level 3 within the
past seven (7) years, you need to have an original transcript mailed to the Board (no copies, faxes or scans
accepted) from the National Board of Osteopathic Medical Examiners (NBOME) showing all three scores. You
are responsible for paying the fee for the transcript.

If it has been more than seven (7) years since you passed Level 3 or any other exam, you are not required to
send the scores but you will need to list the exam, the scores and the dates on your application.

11. Can | have verifications and COMLEX scores sent to me and include them in my application?

No. If they are sent to you and you send them to us, we will not accept them and processing your application
will be delayed. The original transcript of your COMLEX scores is a considered a verification. If verifications
come through a third party, including the applicant, it is not considered to have been received from the
verifying entity and, therefore, is not valid. The only trusted secondary sources for verifications are the
FSMB'’s Federation Credentials Verification Service (FCVS) and AOIA’s verification of a defunct postgraduate
training (PGT) program.

To maintain the integrity of the verification, it MUST be sent from the verifying entity directly to the Board
office.
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12. How does using FCVS help in the processing of my application?

You will need to contact FCVS to find out what they do and do not verify. Their website is
http://www.fsmb.org/fcvs.html. You are responsible for paying any fees involved with using FCVS.

13. Will I receive updates regarding the status of my application?

Yes, at the following stages in the application process:

1. you will be sent an email when the application has been received;

2. if your application is administratively incomplete, you will be notified in writing by mail what documents
have not been received yet;

3. after 30 days of receipt of your application, you may email or call the Board to check on the status of
your application;

4. if there are issues about your qualifications, or if you are required to appear before the Board, you will be
notified in writing by mail; or

5. if your application is approved, you will be notified in writing and a Request for Issuance of License form
will be sent with the approval letter.

14. Can someone else check on the status of my application?

Yes, if you provide the name of a person or facility in section 1A of the application (page 2), you authorize
that individual to receive information on the status of your application. However, all written correspondence
regarding issues concerning your qualifications will only be sent directly to you, the applicant.

15. How long is my initial license valid?

Your initial license is valid the date of issuance displayed on your License Certificate. Your license is valid until
the end of the calendar year in which it was issued. However, under Arizona law, there is an automatic grace
period of four (4) months (until May 1) before your license officially expires. A late penalty of $175 applies if
you renew your license on or after February 1.

16. Can | submit my Request for Issuance of License form in advance of when | need my license?

No. You have 90 days from your approval date to accept and pay for your license. There is a prorated fee
table on the issuance form. You will pay the fee which corresponds with the month you are sending your
request for issuance of your license. Within three (3) business days of receiving the Request for Issuance
form and fee, your payment will be processed and your license issued, effective the date we receive your
request. You can check on the status of your license after it is issued by going to www.azdo.gov > Doctor
Search and performing a license search on your last name. Your web profile only appears after the license is
issued.

17. Does Arizona have a temporary license?
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A temporary postgraduate training permit is available for osteopathic physicians who are enrolled in an
accredited internship, residency or fellowship program.

For physicians who will be temporarily assisting or substituting for an Arizona licensed MD or DO, Arizona has
a Locum Tenens Registration that is good for 90 days. The combined application and issuance fee is $300.
This registration may be extended once for an additional and contiguous 90 days upon written request and
payment of an additional $300 fee. Please see the application and instructions on our website at For DOs >

New License Application for more information about a Locum Tenens Registration.
Page 3


http://www.fsmb.org/fcvs.html
http://www.azdo.gov/

18. Does Arizona have a volunteer or pro bono license?

We have a Pro Bono Registration, which is not a license. This registration allows an osteopathic physician
who is not a licensee to practice in this state for a total of 60 days each calendar year (cumulatively or
consecutively) if the physician meets all of the following requirements:
a. Holds an active and unrestricted license to practice medicine in a state, territory or possession of the
United States,
b. Has never had a license revoked or suspended by a health profession regulatory board of another
jurisdiction,
c. Isnot the subject of an unresolved complaint, and
d. Agrees to render all medical services without accepting a fee or salary or performs only initial or

follow-up examinations at no cost to the patient and the patient’s family through a charitable
organization.

To apply for a pro bono registration, use the application on our website at For DOs > New License Application.
There is no fee for this registration.

19. Do I get my DEA license through your office?
No. You need to contact the DEA at (602) 664-5831.
20. Do | have to apply to register to dispense prescription medications from my office?

You only need to register if you are dispensing medications (other than samples) from your office.
“Dispensing” means keeping a supply of drugs and devices at your office and filling the prescription at your
office. In essence, if you are running a pharmacy within your practice, you must register to dispense. If you
only write prescriptions for patients to fill elsewhere and give out samples, you do NOT need to register. The

Initial Registration to Dispense Medication form may be downloaded from our website at www.azdo.gov
>For DOs>Dispensing Initial Registration Form.

21. If my circumstances change during the application process, can | get a refund since | no longer
need or want the license?

Fees are non-refundable. If/when your application is approved, you can choose not to request the issuance
of a license and allow your application to lapse without penalty.
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