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Frequently Asked Questions:
Dispensing Physician Registration in Arizona

1. When do | need a Dispensing Physician Registration?

Arizona law (A.R.S. § 32-1871) requires that you register with the Board if you dispense prescription only drugs or
devices (excluding samples) to your patients from your office, clinic or practice location. This law applies only to
doctors practicing in Arizona, not to doctors practicing out of state. It does not apply to doctors who may work in
large HMO practices or buildings that also have a pharmacy on-site, as long as that pharmacy has a licensed
pharmacist and is under the jurisdiction of the Arizona Pharmacy Board.

2. Dol need a Dispensing Physician Registration if all | do is give samples and write prescriptions that my patients

fill at a pharmacy elsewhere?

No.

3. How do | obtain a Dispensing Physician Registration?

You must complete the Initial Dispensing Registration Form and submit it with a copy of your DEA certificate and
the prorated fee to the Board. The form and instructions are available at www.azdo.gov > For DOs > Dispensing
Registration > Dispensing Initial Registration Form. Use the Initial form if you have not registered as a dispensing
physician or if you were registered previously and your registration expired. The Dispensing Physician
Registration Annual Renewal Form is only available on the website from November 1* through December 31* and
should only be used by those physicians renewing a current registration for the next calendar year (see Question 8).

4. What is required to obtain a Dispensing Physician Registration?

You must be actively licensed and practicing in Arizona. Your license must be free of any Board actions involving
prescribing restrictions. You must have a current DEA certificate in your name in order to dispense medications. A
copy of your DEA certificate should be submitted with your dispensing registration form.

Please read the directions and complete the form. Failure to provide required and complete information may delay
the processing of your registration.

An email address is required. Your dispensing registration certificate is sent to you as a PDF attachment via email.

5. What Statutes and Rules govern dispensing registration for an osteopathic physician?

The Statutes and Rules can be found on our website under “Statutes and Rules” in the menu on the left side. The

DEA may also have requirements with which you will need to comply in order to lawfully dispense medications.
Please contact the DEA for further information.
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Why does the form ask for a separate DEA number for each location?

The DEA requires a separate registration for each principal place of business or professional practice where
controlled substances are stored, administered or dispensed by a person.  Please provide the DEA registration

information for each location from which you register to dispense. Please contact the DEA’s Office of Diversion
Control for information about its requirements.

What are the fees associated with an /nitial Dispensing Physician Registration?

The initial registration fee is prorated. See the prorated fee chart on the Initial Registration Form on our website.
The fee is $20 per month per calendar year for which you are registering to dispense. For example, if you register
in January, the fee is $240. If you register in September, the fee is $80. The registration will expire on December
31% the same year and will need to be renewed in order to continue dispensing medications. Due to the renewal

cycle, if you register between the months of October and December, the fee is $240 and the registration is valid
through the following calendar year.

When do | need to renew my Dispensing Physician Registration?

By December 31% each calendar year. There is no grace period for the renewal of Dispensing Physician
Registrations. The registration expires on December 31*". Use the Dispensing Physician Registration Annual
Renewal Form available on the website from November 1% through December 31%. Submit your registration
renewal prior to December 31* to avoid any interruption in your dispensing privileges. After December 31%, you
will need to re-register using the Initial Registration Form. The renewal fee is $240.00 per year.

Please submit a copy of your current DEA certificate with the Dispensing Registration Renewal Form to avoid delays
in processing your application.

Do | need to pay a fee for each location where | dispense?

No. One fee covers all dispensing locations.

What if | change locations or need to add a location to my Dispensing Physician Registration?

Send us a letter via email, fax or regular mail informing us of the changes to locations associated with your
registration to dispense. You can use our form if you wish but a written letter is also acceptable. Please provide an
email address to which we can send the certificates with your new registered location(s). There is no fee for
changing your registered location(s).

Please note: The Board does not assume that when you change or add a dispensing location you are also

requesting a practice address change. If you need to update your practice address with the Board, please do so
using the Address Change Form on our website (For DOs > Other Forms).

What do | need to do if | no longer dispense from my office?

If you had a Dispensing Physician Registration and are NOT renewing this year, YOU MUST disclose IN WRITING how
you disposed of your inventory pursuant to A.R.S. § 32-1871(F) using the Inventory Disposal Form located on our
website at www.azdo.gov > For DOs > Dispensing Registration.

Contact the Board directly with all other questions
Email: guestions@azdo.gov or Phone: 480-657-7703
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