Arizona Board of Osteopathic Examiners In Medicine and Surgery
9535 E. Doubletree Ranch Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85258
Ph : 480-657-7703 | Fx: 480-657-7715 | www.azdo.gov | questions@azdo.gov

LICENSE APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

Thank you for your interest in becoming licensed by the
Arizona Board of Osteopathic Examiners in Medicine and Surgery

It is your responsibility to review the Arizona Revised Statutes and Rules regarding licensure.
These can be found on our website at www.azdo.gov.

The following information and documents are required to complete your application.
Should you have questions, please contact the Board’s office at 602-771-2525.

1. Definitions of Frequently Used Words

APPLICATION: When we refer to the “application”, we mean the four page application form. Other pages
before and after the application in this PDF are for you to use if you need them. Please make certain you
append the appropriate forms to the application as needed along with your supporting documents.

We prefer only one of each page of the application and as many separate sheets of paper as needed. If
your information does not fit in the application’s tables, please do not make copies of application pages to
add the information. Instead, type the ‘overflow’ information on one or more separate blank sheets
of paper and include them with the other supporting documents.

APPLICATION PACKET: When we use this term and refer to it as “your application packet”, we mean all
the completed forms, additional sheets and supporting documents you are required to send to the Board
to complete your application.

COPY: When we request a copy of a document, notarization or certification is not required and an original
is not necessary. A document copy, such as identification or diploma, may also be made by taking a clear,
legible picture of the document in good lighting with a phone and sent by email.

2. Notarization: Your application must be properly notarized. The notarization is a Jurat and Arizona law
requires a document with this type of notarization have NO blank spaces on any page of the document.
With a Jurat, you are not only having your signature notarized, you are also being placed under oath by
the notary and affirming that everything in the application packet is true and correct. If a section or field
does not apply to you, write N/A. Do not leave any blank spaces.

3. Application Fee: The $400 application fee can be paid by Visa, MasterCard, American Express, check or
money order. This fee is for processing the application only and is non-refundable. Do not send the
application fee ahead of your application. We cannot hold checks or credit card payment forms.
Checks will be voided and returned to the sender and credit card payment forms will be shredded if the
payment is not accompanied by the application.

4. Contact Information: The applicant’s contact information is required in Section 1 of the application.
Home address, cell phone number, email address, date of birth and social security number will be kept
confidential. Alternate contact information may be provided in Section 1A.
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Photograph: A color passport type photograph, approximately 2” x 2”of you (head and shoulders) taken
within the past 60 days, must be affixed to your application. We prefer you use transparent tape around
the edges because your application packet will be scanned.

Identification: A copy of a current government issued identification showing the same name used on the
application. A driver’s license, US passport or military ID are examples of acceptable identification.

Citizenship Status: You are required to submit a completed and signed two page Arizona Statement
of Citizenship and Alien Status Form. You are also required to submit a copy of acceptable documentation
demonstrating your citizenship, alien status, legal residency or lawful presence in the United States.
Accepted forms of identification are included on a list attached to the Citizenship form.

Diploma: A copy of your diploma from an approved College of Osteopathic Medicine (COM) showing
the date of graduation must be submitted with your application. This is in addition to the verification
form you are required to send to your COM (see item 17). You may use your transcript in lieu of a copy
of your osteopathic diploma.

Internship Certificate: You are not qualified to be licensed in Arizona until you have successfully
completed one year of postgraduate training. A copy of your internship certificate or official letter
showing completion of an internship or first year of residency (PGY-1) must be submitted with your
application. This is in addition to the verification form you are required to send to your postgraduate
training (PGT) facility. If your PGY-1 year was the first year of your residency and your program did not
issue a PGY-1 certificate or letter, please let us know.

Residency and Fellowship Certificate(s): Copies of your residency and fellowship certificate(s) or official
letter(s) showing completion of any postgraduate training for PGY-2 and beyond, if applicable, must be

submitted with your application. This is in addition to the verification form you are required to send to
your postgraduate training facility or facilities.

COMLEX Scores: An official transcript of your COMLEX or USMLE examination scores if you passed
Level 3 within seven (7) years prior to the application date. The transcript must be on official letterhead
and be mailed to us by the testing organization. Originals or copies sent from the applicant are not
acceptable. This transcript can be ordered from your testing organization. You are responsible for all
associated fees. FCVS is the only trusted secondary source we will accept.

Employment/Practice Experience: In Section 7 of the application, list all health care facilities, clinics,
urgent cares, offices, etc. at which you practiced medicine, consulted medicine or had staff privileges
since completion of postgraduate training. This also includes employers and private practice, and facilities
at which you did not “use” your privileges, past and present, but does not include facilities at which you
were doing PGT rotations. You must account for all years since postgraduate training was completed.
Please use a separate blank sheet of paper (not a copy of an application page) as needed. Type the
‘overflow’ information that does not fit in the application on one or more separate blank sheets of paper
and include them with the other supporting documents. If this information is in your CV, you may write
“see CV” in the table and include your CV with your application.

Please note: While we need a list of your entire employment and practice experience since initial
licensure, you only need to provide verification of the last seven (7) years of that experience to the Board.

Private Practice Verification: You cannot self-verify your private practice. Please have a third party
professionally connected to your practice who is able to answer the questions on the form complete Form
3 and submit it directly to the Board.
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Locum Tenens History: We realize the difficulty in attempting to organize LT history in a
standard chronological format. If you have locum tenens history, you may contact your agency or please
write “see attached LT history” or something similar in the table, then use a separate blank sheet of
paper and organize your history by healthcare facility and then dates. Put the staffing/LT agency name in
parentheses or brackets next to the facility name. Use as many pages as necessary. For example:

Justin Example Hospital and Medical Center (XXX staffing) Any Town, AZ
1/1/11-1/30/11

3/5/09 —3/31/09

2/5/08 —4/1/08

Another Example Hospital (ZZ & Z Group) Any Town, AZ
May 1, 2010 to May 14, 2010

March 1, 2009 to March 4, 2009

Oct 25, 2007 to Nov 3, 2007

This general organizational format will allow you to more easily determine where you need to send copies
of Form No. 3 in the application packet and allow us to more easily match them to the history you provide
thereby preventing errors, omissions and unnecessary delays.

. Specialty Board Certification: Copies of ABMS or AOA-BOS Board certification(s), if applicable, should be

submitted with your application.

Professional Conduct History “YES” Answers: If you answered Yes to any question in Section 8
(Professional Conduct History) or Section 9 (Professional Conduct History-Confidential Questionnaire), you
must provide a written explanation on a separate blank sheet of paper and include it and any documents
that confirm your explanation.

Medical Malpractice: If you have had a malpractice suit that resulted in an award or settlement to the
plaintiff, or you have been notified that a suit or settlement is pending and/or was investigated by another
state licensing board, complete a Malpractice Claim/Suit Questionnaire for each instance. Writing “See
Attached” on the questionnaire does not meet requirements. Include this form in your application with
your written explanation, a copy of the complaint, settlement, and associated Board action, if any. Do not
send the NPDB Report in lieu of your written explanation or required documentation. If copies of the
complaint and settlement are no longer available, please send a letter from the insurance company or the
court stating the records no longer exist.

Change of Name: Copies of legal documentation showing change of name, if applicable, must be
submitted with your application. This includes change of name as a result of marriage, divorce or other
legal means. Please note, if the name on your ID and the name on the other documents in your
application packet do not match, you must explain the discrepancy if it is not self-explanatory by a
marriage certificate, etc. You also need to fill in the line that asks for “other names used” on the first page
of the application.

Verification: Verification of your professional education, training and last seven (7) years of practice
experience are required. Please send Form No. 1, 2 or 3 to the appropriate entities in order to obtain this
and then have the completed form(s) sent directly to the Board in order to maintain the integrity
of the verification. We accept verifications by fax, email or mail from the verifying entities. Verification is
only accepted if it is completed and sent directly from the verifying entity to the Board.
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VERIFICATIONS: THINGS TO REMEMBER

e Please DO NOT have the original Verification Form No. 1, 2 or 3 sent to you.

e Please DO NOT fill these out yourself below the line that says “to be filled out by ....”

e Please DO NOT keep the signed originals and include them in your application packet. We cannot
accept the verification is received from the applicant.

e If you are providing self-addressed stamped envelopes to these entities, DO NOT put your own return
address in the corner of the envelope. When it arrives, we will immediately assume it is coming
from you and it will not be accepted.

Verification of Licensure and Disciplinary History: Verification of licensure and disciplinary history from
each state in which you are or have been licensed regardless of status is required. If no actions have
been taken against your license(s), the verifications must state this. You are required to contact each
state and have the verification sent directly to the Board. We accept a state’s website verification if it is
the only means of verification provided by the state. We also accept VeriDoc. Please do not send copies
of your license certificates or wallet cards.

Any supporting documents that arrive at the Board office prior to your application will be filed for six (6)
months. These will be matched up with your application when it arrives. If the delay is lengthy,
verifications for current PGT programs, state licenses and practice experience may need to be re-
verified.

Original Application Required: Your original notarized application must be sent by regular mail or via a
delivery service. We do not accept copies, faxes or scans of the application.

Application Approval and Issuance of License: Approval of your application means you may request
issuance of your license within 90 days. If your application is approved, you will receive an approval

letter accompanied by the Request for Issuance of License form. You must submit this one-page form
and the license issuance fee before your license can be issued. Your license effective date will be the
same date we receive and process the issuance request form and fee.

When your application arrives at the Board office and payment is processed, you will be sent an email
from our Licensing Division acknowledging receipt. Please include a valid email address in the space
provided on the application. This will allow us to communicate more readily with you and facilitate
processing your application.

If you have any questions, please read the FAQ on our website at
www.azdo.gov > FOR DOs > New License Application > Initial Licensure FAQ

If the FAQ does not answer your question, please feel free to contact us at questions@azdo.gov
Phone: 480-657-7703 FAX: 480-657-7715

DUE TO THE HIGH VOLUME OF APPLICATIONS, PLEASE ALLOW 30 DAYS BEFORE
CONTACTING THE OFFICE FOR AN UPDATE ON THE STATUS OF YOUR APPLICATION
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